Page of Cups

Page of Cups

What are you telling me, little fish,
that someone gave as a present to me?

Throw me back and I’ll be with you
whenever you sail upon the sea.

Foolish promises, little fish.

Nobody stands with his back to the sea
save those who drowned in a former life,
those who fear and abhor the sea.

Would you really do this thing for me?
Would you, could you, little fish?

Throw me back and my sisters three
will come to you wherever you be,
when your ship falls apart and the sailors drown,
and carry you safe through the raging sea.

© James Munro

Leave a Reply

