III of Swords

3Swords

The rain falls …
The heart is pierced
not once
but again
and again …
And still the rain falls.

Only rain
can make the flowers grow
and bloom
and blow in the wind
and sunshine.
Only a pierced heart
can know
what it is to love.

© James Munro

4 Responses to “III of Swords”

  1. Hey I really enjoyed your poem. I have been getting the 3 of swords in almost every other reading I do for myself. This has been happening for half a year now. I checked my deck and the card is not bent or physically deformed to make me pick it, I am really not sure why it keeps appearing. Strange…but your poem has provided me with some insight!

  2. Hi Neda, glad to hear the poem helps. I think when you do a reading for yourself there can be a kind of self-fulfilling prophecy – I mean, you’ve reached the stage where you expect the 3 of Swords to come up – so it does! Is it the same when someone else does a reading for you?

    • I haven’t gone to a tarot reader in over a year now but it would be interesting to see what happens when I do. I guess your’e right in that I think about the card coming up (almost comically) and then it does. Has this ever happened to you?

  3. No, but I’ve heard of it happening and thought of it immediately when I read about your problem with the 3 of Swords. I use a pendulum (dowsing) and it happens to me all the time there – I have to have a completely open mind, any preconceptions influence the swing of the pendulum.

Leave a Reply

